Another HOT weekend!!

Well there wasn’t a lot of campers this weekend, but we enjoyed another hot, sticky weekend.  We did get a little relief on Thursday afternoon when it decided to rain…although it was more of a tease, I think, for the thirsty crops, gardens, flower beds, lawns, etc.!   The temperature dropped after the shower, making the evening pretty enjoyable.

I last posted on Friday (6/22) morning before Donna & I headed out for the items needed for Dirty Bingo & Wacky Family Olympics (6/30).  We set off with goals of hitting garage sales in Greencastle (IN), plus 3 more stops.  We stopped at 3 different garage sales.  We were able to find some clothes we need for the Olypmics, some kitchen stuff for Dirty Bingo prizes & I picked up a darling little summer dress with clear summer heals (perfect for the dress).  We made a quick stop at Krogers for needed bottled water & beer.  Then our favorite place….Dollar Tree!  I usually spend way more than I should in there but I get a lot for what I spend.  I just know it doesn’t take long when you keep throwing stuff in the cart thinking it’s just a buck & end up an hour later totaling out at like $50.  But in all fairness, I doubt I would get a most of that stuff, that cheap, even at Walmart!

By the time we returned to the campground, the Bloody Mary session was about to begin.  Friday nights at the campground, for our group, usually ends up fairly simple as far as meal planning.  Usually there’s four of us that just roast hot dogs or sausages over the fire.  Sometimes we’ll peal off the label & open a can of sauerkraut or maybe some coney dog sauce .  We heat it up around the edge of the fire pit.  We all contribute side items (the simpler, the better).

Saturday meals that’s a different story.  We have some pretty elaborate spreads!  We’ll settle on an entree, in which everyone contributes their portion of meat.  It’s pretty much like a potluck dinner…good food, good friends, great beverages.  Who could ask for anything more?  We decided we needed to eat early because we were bringing “snacks” to Dirty Bingo later that night.  Our food of choice (trying to keep simple) Stuffed meat cakes filled with your choice of diced multi-color sweet peppers, onions, mushrooms, cheese & spices, I forgot to pack the bacon pieces 😦  Our menu also included:  coleslaw, potato salad, garden salad, macaroni salad, cottage cheese, salsa (I love Chuck & Dave’s Salsa we get at Sam’s, fresh salsa w/garlic), monkey bread, iced brownies & oatmeal cookies.  The really sad part…there were only 6 of us eating together.  But you know what, that’s what makes it still feel like camping (even in our hotel on wheels) when you have potluck pitch-ins, family reunions,summer picnics..just having large family gatherings where you really got to actually play with your cousins & get to know them.  But sadly that’s sort of a dying tradition. And that just gave me an idea for a future topic.

Dirty Bingo        All in all….I think everyone that was there…enjoyed it & from comments we got before we left this morning, would be interested in doing it again.  For those who didn’t play, I’ll explain the “jest” of it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were “white elephant” prizes that were designated as kids (12 & under) & adults (13 & over).  Whether you have your participants bring a wrapped prize or you supply the prizes & charge per card.  You start out just doing regular bingo until all prizes are gone.  Then…you start stealing from others!  If you bingo you get to look around & take from someone else.  If there’s multiple bingo’s.. they are done in order called.  A prize can not be stolen more that once for game called.  It’s always so much fun to have some of them be the hot “steal” & they get passed around numerous times.  After this continues for many bingo’s the caller will warn of nearing last bingo.  We take turns in opening prizes to get laughs on what winners end up with.  So if you didn’t make it to our first Dirty Bingo night, you might want to next time.  And for the record, there were mainly 2 boxes that were stolen the most…a Bacardi rum box that contained 2 glass mixing bowls (auction treasures) & 1 bag of Christmas cookie cutters (garage sale bargains)….enjoy Rob!  Second one was a big, kind of short but long plain box that felt like it had nothing in it.  The only sound that was heard…a little sand/dirt that was in the box from being stored out in our pole barn.  But I knew what was in the box!  I bought it & I boxed it, after a diligent search for just the right box.  I must share, there was some cheating going on, some were hiding their prizes…shameful (lol).  When Donna & I were shopping at Dollar Tree in Greencastle, I found these ginormous flyswatters for a BUCK!!!  (I knew I should have bought one for myself also…hopefully they still have them when I go back next weekend!!!) Congrats Danielle on the awesome…ginormous flyswatter…that could be used for many purposes….some a little naughty too  ;-).  Oh….Wyatt….you should have offered to trade your gift w/one of the girls.  I hope you didn’t throw them away…2 new packages of good ponytail holders in a cute little flower box for safe keeping, even Moms can appreciate those kind of things. The fun part is…you never know whats inside your prize.

Until my next post….everyone have a safe week & we’ll look forward to next weekend!  Stay tuned for Wacky Family Olympic updates or stuff/props I may need to borrow for the  events………Please & Thanks……………Cheryl